Skip to content

Ervin Frye: Give foster parenting a try

May 17, 2010

May is Foster Care Awareness Month. Every year, about 500,000 children enter foster care in the United States due to abuse, neglect or abandonment, or because their families can no longer care for them. For organizations like ours who work in partnership with state governments to find loving foster homes for children, people like Ervin Frye are so important.

Ervin is a Youth Villages foster parent and he urges others to join him to provide safe, nurturing environments for kids who desperately need them:

I’ve done many things in life. I was in the Navy, worked as a youth counselor, and I am now am a financial adviser. I never thought that my most important and fulfilling role in life would be a completely different one – as a dad.

I never had children of my own. But counseling youth with emotional and behavioral problems, I learned what these young people really need and want to succeed in life: a stable home, unconditional love and a family who really cares.

That’s why I became a Youth Villages foster parent. To provide teenage boys with the kind of home they have never had.

Today, I am the adoptive dad of three teenage sons. And I continue to foster.

Being a foster parent – just like being a parent – can be challenging. But the rewards are endless. Over time, we have become a family. We eat dinner together, do homework together, share house chores and go on vacation together. All my boys do well in school now and are involved in positive after-school activities, like band and sports.

There’s no magic in being a foster parent. What it takes is discipline, consistency, structure, love and patience. If I can do it, so can you.

Give foster parenting a try. Call Youth Villages today at 1-888-MY-YVKID. There are children just like my sons who need you!

Thanks,
Ervin Frye, foster and adoptive dad

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

