Skip to content

Bob Nephew talks about serving on a Youth Villages Leadership Council

March 24, 2011

Community leaders serve on Youth Villages’ Leadership Councils to actively promote and support our mission to help children and families live successfully and advocate proven solutions for the child welfare/juvenile justice systems. Council members play a significant role at the local level establishing Youth Villages as the leading provider of effective programs for troubled children and their families.

Bob Nephew, president of RM Nephew and Associates, serves on the Massachusetts Leadership Council and explains why this role is important to him.

Learn about all the ways you can support Youth Villages’ mission at www.youthvillages.org.


It was my daughter’s work in human services that first introduced me to the challenges surrounding the foster care system and the vast number of youth aging out of state care each year who are still in need of support. When I learned of Youth Villages and the transitional living program they offer, it struck a chord with me. I agreed to be on the leadership council because I believe it is an active way for me to utilize my skill set to make a difference.

What I find unique about Youth Villages is that their business model is centered on metrics, growth and effective service delivery. After meeting some of the staff and leadership of the organization, I was impressed by the efficiency and enthusiasm of the team.

What has been most rewarding about my involvement with Youth Villages is having the confidence that I’m working with an organization thoroughly committed to helping children and families and whose team is dedicated to doing whatever it takes to help. That confidence comes from the time I’ve spent in the field with their staff and the youth participating in their transitional living services.
With so many places to consider, if we are going to invest a piece of ourselves, we want to know that there will be a positive, meaningful result. I truly believe that by investing in Youth Villages, the chances of achieving that objective are very high.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

