Skip to content

When she needed someone, Rosa was always there

May 1, 2012

“I think to myself, ‘You’re so lucky. You don’t know what that means.’ I wanted someone to tell me I couldn’t go somewhere. I wanted someone to be there for me.” – DeeDee

At the end of the day, you have to ask yourself, “Who’s going to be there for me?”

For DeeDee, the answer was obvious. Last November, Rosa, whom she now calls “Mom,” adopted her.

“I had already adopted one child, and I wasn’t looking to adopt again,” Rosa said. “But every time she’d leave to go to another foster family, she’d come back.”

DeeDee didn’t think she’d like living there. Initially, it was difficult. She first stayed with Rosa during a weekend, and Rosa could tell there was something different about DeeDee.

Rosa, whose biological children were grown, was patient. She was relaxed. Most important, she knew where DeeDee was coming from.

“I had a temper, and I was very defensive,” DeeDee said. “I had my guard up all the time. Few people could have gone through those times with me, but Rosa was different.”

DeeDee had two weekend stays with Rosa before moving there full time. The high school sophomore plans to become a nurse and also pursue a country music career. She went into foster care at age 13 after allegations of abuse and neglect.

She said being in foster care was difficult except for the time with Rosa. She’s more relaxed now and has again become the talkative, outgoing girl she was before going into state custody. She just turned 16, and is working to help Rosa buy her a car.

DeeDee doesn’t shy from talking about the adoption. Rosa wasn’t what she was looking for, but she’s fiercely loyal to her mom now. While she challenges Rosa as any teenager would, she doesn’t understand when her peers speak ill of their parents.

“Sometimes at school I overhear other kids talk about how they hate their parents because their parents didn’t let them go to a party or to a friend’s house,” DeeDee said.

“I think to myself, ‘You’re so lucky. You don’t know what that means.’ I wanted someone to tell me I couldn’t go somewhere. I wanted someone to be there for me.”

DeeDee doesn’t regret anything. She wished for adoptive parents who could take her places and do things with her. Rosa can’t be that to the level DeeDee wanted, but they both believe faith brought them together. They communicate; they finish each other’s sentences. They laugh and they smile. They have an energy between each other formed out of love, safety and security.

“I don’t regret my situation because now I have a better life,” DeeDee said. “At the end of the day, I asked myself, ‘Who’s going to be there to help and support me?’”

Then Rosa finished for her.

“Things happen for a reason, and it makes you stronger.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

