Skip to content

Jordan learns to cope with his anger

May 11, 2012

Jordan

Jordan, 14
Arkansas

Jordan needed time to work out behavior issues brought on by abuse and neglect.

His grades suffered as a result.

At Youth Villages’ Dogwood Campus, Jordan learned how to cope with anger and frustration. He learned about impulse control and personal boundaries. Much of his coping training involved athletics.

He got better.

Denise, his grandmother, visited each week to participate in his therapy and was kept informed of Jordan’s progress.

He focused on getting better.

Jordan completed the school year with a 3.77 GPA.

“At first, I didn’t like it. I didn’t think I needed to be there. But then, the more and more I complained about it, the more I began to realize I needed help. Then I began to miss my family and friends. It motivated me to get better and get out.” – Jordan

“It turned out to be a real positive experience for us. Jordan shared what he learned with his siblings and has had very good progress reports since. I can’t say enough good things about Youth Villages. They really administer to the whole child. Normally, you’d never know how much goes into helping a child, but I saw so many people giving time and support. I’m really proud of Jordan and what he’s been able to accomplish.” – Denise, Jordan’s grandmother

Jordan is one of several children featured in the Youth Villages 2011 Program Report. Learn how Youth Villages helps children like Jordan and thousands of children like him every year with residential treatment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

