Skip to content

Finding a way home: Kaylee’s story

November 29, 2012

I arrived at their front door five days before Christmas. I was 17, one of the “older” foster children that you hear about. I felt like I had nothing and no one.

My life had been one disappointment, one rejection after another. My volatile mother asked me to leave her house when I was 14. I spent a few weeks living in homeless shelters and on the street. Eventually, I ended up in the child welfare system. There was nowhere else for me to go.

So there I was on their doorstep. I didn’t expect anything from them, and from the first day, they offered me everything. I have a collage of photos that tell the story of that year. There are photos of my birthday party, the prom, graduation parties and finally my high school graduation.

When I met them, I had expected just another foster home. Instead, I found a family who cared about me — and will always care about me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

